Christian Grief Traditions: Part I

Christian Grief and the Stations

As a Christian Spiritual Counselor regarding grief, it is not only worthwhile to have a deep knowledge of Christian traditions of grief, but also a pious form of spirituality for oneself. The following articles will look at some of the Christian traditions on grief surrounding Christ, his mother and church traditions. They should not be seen as particular to any one tradition but should be accepted and practiced universally since they all encompass core ideals of Christian theology.

The Via Dolorosa or Way of Sorrow originated in the Holy Land, although any modern version resemblance did not come into being until the Fourteenth and Fifteenth Centuries under the Franciscan Order. Later that century, the tradition began to flourish and they could be found in Catholic Churches.
The Way of the Cross to this day remains a Catholic tradition that any Christians can share and participate in during Lent. It presents a way one can meditate on the passion of Christ and offer reparation for their sins.
Below is a list of the stations.
1.Jesus is Condemned to death
2.Jesus Accepts His Cross
3.Jesus Falls the First Time
4.Jesus Meets His Mother
5.Simone of Cyrene Helps Jesus Carry His Cross
6.Veronica Wipes the Face of Jesus
7.Jesus Falls the Second Time
8.Jesus Consoles the Holy Women
9.Jesus Falls the Third Time  
13.Jesus is Taken from the Cross
14.Jesus is Placed in the Tomb
15.Jesus Rises from the Dead (Newly Added, but not included during Good Friday Service)
This rich tradition leads the faithful with Christ via the long upward trek to Calvary. While the death of Christ was a historic incident and from our temporal existence a past event, one should remember, God as a being exists outside of time, and if we walk this walk and offer our tears, and thanks, Christ himself hears us—even if that sad day happened 2000 years ago. With that mind, as Christian counselors and Christians in general, one should walk the way of sorrows at least once a year during Lent—whether Catholic or Protestant.  If you are interested in Christian Grief Certification, please review the program.
The Christian Grief Counseling Training consists of core courses that qualified professionals must take to become certified

By Mark Moran, MA, GC-C, SCC-C